my first BRAINQUEST 3rd Ed (Ages 2-3)

20110917-042215.jpg

I chanced upon this whilst browsing my favorite motherhood website.

Join a little monkey named Max on his fun-filled days and watch your child’s vocabulary blossom! Help Max get dressed. Visit the zoo. Have fun at the circus. Enjoy a picnic in the county. Plus celebrate holidays, mark the changing of the seasons, and learn all about animals. It’s a game of 400 questions in picture form that will help your child develop essential learning skills and get a smart start.
Vetted by a panel of America’s highest award-winning teachers, and embraced by kids and parents because it flat-out works, Brain Quest opens a world of information and education with its fast-paced question-and-answer format, bright full-color illustrations, and lively attitude
It’s never too early to build a child’s vocabulary, and the updated My First Brain Quest–designed specifically for 2- and 3-year-olds–is a fun way to get started. The tall, skinny plastic box contains three decks (the cards are attached so they fan out on a hinge) with a total of 400 questions, and a spongy, nontoxic Max toy monkey. The idea is to have the toddler bond with the monkey, so the child associates the cards with playtime!

Curious about it, I ordered one. It is not cheap, BP price @ $17.50. Retails at $19.95. On hindsight, I really should control my impulse buying. It is kinda cute when I received it. Something different from your usual flashcards. There are three decks of cards. Deck One offers a full day with Max from the time he wakes up until bedtime. For example, a full-page cartoon of Max in his colorful toy-ridden bedroom asks, “Who just woke up? What is Max wearing? What do you see in his room?” The cards break down into smaller illustrations with object and activity identification (“What is Max doing? He’s putting on his slippers” or “What is this called? A clock.”) We follow Max through breakfast, school, music lessons, and more. Deck Two introduces children to seasonal activities, including trick-or-treating and playing on a snowy day. Deck Three explores the world, following Max from the mall to a picnic in the country to a farm.

I tried to introduce it to XXM. He was totally nonchalant about it. XMM on the contrary, chews eagerly on Max. Day 1 and teeth marks are formed. Sigh. The stuff I own are going to have poor resale value in the future,. The assuring part is that it is made of non toxic material, making it safe for budding teeth. Alas, I was disappointed with XXM’s response. Is it money down the drain?

However just the other night, XXM was still up by the time I got home from clinical attachment. Seeing me, he was very happy. It suddenly dawned on me that I should try to introduce the first couple of pages of BRAINQUEST which showed Max getting out of bed. But I bullshitted and told XXM that Max was getting ready for bed. Haha. I introduced him once again to the foam toy Max and taught him to point with Max just as the parent’s guide suggested. This time, he was more receptive. Instantly, he registered who Max was. When I quizzed him the next day where Max was, he was able to tell me. So, I slowly went through the full page picture first, then to the smaller illustrations. I related what we saw in the cards to the things around us e.g the pajamas that Max was wearing, the blanket that covers us when we sleep etc. He loved it! I was so pleased and continued grinning from ear to ear the next day.

I haven’t got the chance to try it with him again. Will find the opportunity this weekend. I came across a review on Amazon which one mother claimed it helped supplement her son’s speech therapy classes. Sounds wonderful! What I can see for now, if XXM has a sustained interest, is that it works great as a conversation starter with your child. If u are bored with your daily limited vocabulary with your two year old, this will definitely get the ball rolling. XXM’s linguistic ability lags behind his peers, probably because we speak a mixture of languages to him and perhaps he isn’t that outspoken like me. But he’s catching on. Slowly but steadily. He doesn’t have a learning disability cos he pretty much understand what we say in whatever languages we throw to him. He just doesn’t like to articulate that much. So, I think BRAINQUEST may be able to help in this area. I will definitely review more when I have gone through more of it with him.

20110917-020050.jpg

20110917-020117.jpg

Leave a Reply

