Current YouTube Fav

Ever since XXM turned 2, he suddenly has a penchant for singing. His repertoire of songs grew from 1 song to the current 5 in simply a month’s time. Here are his top YouTube favorites now.

1. Twinkle twinkle little star

Very well made. See it to believe it.

2. The wheels on the bus

An action song. Only grudge, they are singing way too fast in the video for Xxm to pick up the lyrics properly. But he’s picking up the actions really well.

3. Goodnight Moon

Not a nursery rhyme but he likes it so i am adding it to the list.

4. Skidamarink!

Great for mums like myself who isn’t used to saying “I love you” to voice it to my kids. Good learning platform for myself as I sing along. Xxm is starting to get the hang of it too.

5. The Eensy Weensy Spider

Great to practice motor and coordination skills as they mimic the hands action accompanying the song.

These are some other songs that he loves to sing now but we haven’t quite found any nice YouTube video to go along with it.

1. Baa baa black sheep

2. Rain rain go away
(He doesn’t quite sing this. But it’s really funny to hear him say this in a slow pleading cum nagging tone every time it rains and he’s stuck at home.)

He is able to recognize 95% of his abcs now so I am trying to interest him in the alphabets’ sounds. He is still not developmentally ready to sit down and learn their sounds with me. I tried to introduce the sounds as we sit and play with our letter pieces but it usually ends with him saying the alphabets’ names instead. So he hasn’t quite associate the two. This being said, I thought I will just surround him with more songs and rhymes focusing in this aspect. I have added the following to his YouTube favorites list, hoping he will listen to them someday. Here are what I found:

1. Chicka Chicka Boom Boom

Made to the popular alphabet book by Bill Martin, Jr. and John Archambault and illustrated by Lois Ehlert. The book is notable for its rhyming and catchy structure which made it a hit with many children. It’s not teaching phonics but it will be great if he picks up the alphabet order from here. Honestly, I don’t quite fancy the music that goes along with this. Just not my type.

2. Super Simple Phonics Fun

I hope to find some Chinese nursery rhymes videos for him now. Even though his main caregiver is my MIL who speaks Mandarin and my maid who speaks both Mandarin and English, he is somewhat very influenced by me and has taken to English as his chosen language. I chose to speak to my children in English as I was the only one in the household truly capable of it. I speculated he will pick up Chinese much faster cos his environment is so. Moreover I communicate with Meow in Chinese 90% of the time. But Xxm has proven me wrong. Seems like mummy’s influence is stronger. An example of nurture versus nature?

Leave a Reply

