Literature Based Learning: The Grouchy Ladybug

image

In all honesty, I hate reading this book. The text is so repetitive that it bores me to tears. A huge part of the story goes like this:

At ten o’clock, it saw a lobster.
“Hey you,” said the grouchy ladybug.
“Want to fight?”
“If you insist, ” said the lobster, stretching its claws.
“Oh, you’re not big enough,” said the grouchy ladybug and flew off.

However, Xxm loved this book more than I can imagine. Our initial reading taught him what it is like to be friendly versus grouchy. He comprehended that being friendly is the more desirable trait to have even without further emphasis or explanation from me. So much so, he argues that he is the friendly ladybug at home, while Xmm is the grouchy ladybug. The truth of the matter is far from it. Anyway, his enjoyment of the book prompted me to take it further with him in our learning, so we created a lapbook to document our learning journey.

image

Resources

Ladybug poem
Parts of a Ladybug (Paid resource)
Ladybug Life Cycle
Story Sequencing
Sorting by size and capital/lowercase L
Ladybug Clock
The Grouchy Ladybug lesson plan

Additional Resources

I found these after I have completed the lapbook. They are gorgeous!

Ladybug Number Flash Cards 1-10, 11-20

Learning about Time

The best part of this lapbook was for Xxm to execute the craft for the ladybug clock and to use it to tell the time. Xxm can confidently tell the time by the hour now.

Since he is very interested in time now, I have also tried to make him see the connection between the time and our daily activities, like when do we have our meals, when he or Xmm goes to school, when we wake up or sleep and when daddy and mummy come home. We talked how the clock goes from morning to afternoon to night. Recently, I have also introduced half past (hour) concept to him.

Learning about the Position of the Sun

We talked about the position of the sun with the passage of time.

Learning the Life Cycle

I really wished I could have shown him real ladybugs. But I don’t even see aphids on our plants these days, let alone ladybugs. We discussed each of the stages and Xxm was able to tell me the correct sequence.

Learning the Parts of the Ladybug

This was the first time I tried Montessori 3-part cards with him. He can match them, but he is not really huge into them.

Size Sequencing

He is able to compare sizes, and is able to pick out the biggest or the smallest. However,arranging it in sequence still requires prompting at my end.

Identifying characters and Sequencing by order of appearance

He completes this as we read the story together. I hope to be able to trigger the sequence from his memory instead.

Recognizing L and l

An activity that I designed for Xmm more than Xxm, just in case he wants to join in the fun.

Learning about Animals and their form of Protection

As we reread the book, we talked about how each animal has its own form of protection e.g. the yellow jacket and its stinger.

Learning about 小瓢虫 (Ladybug)

I found a ladybug poem in Chinese, and it was only through this that I realised ladybugs typically have 7 spots on their shell. Hence, they are commonly called seven star ladybug in Chinese.
I isolated some simple Chinese characters from the poem for Xxm to recognise and identify in the poem as well.

We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly with this book and Meow even brought Xxm on a hunt for ladybugs in our neighborhood. Look what they found!

image


Have you read The Grouchy Ladybug yet?

5 Replies to “Literature Based Learning: The Grouchy Ladybug”

  1. I believe that is among the such a lot significant
    information for me. And i am happy studying your article.
    However want to statement on some general issues, The website taste is perfect, the articles is truly great : D.
    Just right task, cheers

Leave a Reply

